Contact us

Address: John Gorton Building, King Edward Terrace, Canberra ACT 2601
Telephone: 02 6274 1111
Enquiries Email:
Postal address: GPO Box 787, Canberra ACT 2601

You can contact the commission via the enquiries email address. Your comments will be directed to the most appropriate staff member for action.


Five Commissioners currently make up the National Water Commission. To contact the Commissioners:

The Hon Karlene Maywald
Chair, National Water Commission
Telephone: 0412 445 865


Commission staff

 Acting Chief Executive Officer:

Mr Richard McLoughlin
Telephone: 02 6274 2345

Freedom of Information

Under the FOI Act, members of the public are entitled to apply for access to documents that fall within its scope.

Find out more about FOI and how to make a request.

Public Interest Disclosure Act

On Wednesday 15 January 2014, the Public Interest Disclosure Act 2013 (PID Act) commenced. On the same day the Whistleblowing provisions under the Public Service Act 1999 were repealed.

The PID Act is the new legislative scheme for the reporting and investigation of allegations of serious wrongdoing in the Commonwealth public sector. It:

  • removes barriers that prevent people who work, or previously worked in the public sector from speaking up about serious problems that impact on public administration
  • ensures that reports of wrongdoing are properly investigated and dealt with
  • provides protection to public officials who report allegations of wrongdoing under the PID Act.

Find out more about public interest disclosure and how to make a report.

Back to top